Jewelry Quest: China Edition

I have to admit that I am in love with shopping. I can spend hours just looking at clothes, makeup, books and craft supplies. I’m also pretty selective, so it takes me forever to decide what I want. Enter online marketplaces. I have been a shopper on Etsy and Ebay for years now, with no regrets. I love being able to search for what I want, and take breaks or save the page for later if I’m not sure. It’s just fantastic!

This brings me to my next issue. I used to avoid China like the plague, until I worked at a very popular retail store. I realized that every piece of jewelry we sold had tiny words on the back of the package, reading ‘made in China’. I started going to other popular stores as well; all from China. I’ve actually started notice the same products (or nearly the same) sold on Ebay for pennies. Here’s a great example:

Guess the Price! There are 2 necklaces. One is $5.00 and the other is 14.50…Click to find out.

ImageImageSo how did you do? It’s really a 50/50 chance unless you cheated. So, some of the items may have minor differences, but are more than likely made in the same factory. I’d rather save my money and just buy online. It might take 2-4 weeks to get to me, but that’s a price I’m willing to pay.

As a side note, as an Etsy seller and shopper, I do buy (as well as make) unique handcrafted jewelry. Nothing compares  to the craftsmanship and heart that goes into each piece. But sometimes, I just need that cute 2 dollar chunky necklace…and I’m not ashamed of that.

And without further ado, here is a pair of earrings I bought for 2 dollars from China (just got them in today).

ImageImage

You can get these cuties here: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/281183002330?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

Leave a Reply

